Latest blog posts

RED ALERT: Gun Control bills in the Senate

May 19, 2019 / NHWomen / 2nd Amendment

4 GUN CONTROL BILLS WILL BE VOTED ON BY THE FULL SENATE on Thursday, May 23rd.

HB 109, requiring background checks for private firearms sales AND transfers. This legislation will actually make it impossible for women to get gun safety training! This legislation will turn law-abiding citizens into criminals all while criminals continue to completely ignore existing laws! It’s the same exact California gun control legislation they have tried to pass 3 previous times.

It also creates a “register of each sale” (gun registry) which is expressly prohibited by federal law. For the record, commercial firearm sales are already covered in existing statute.

HB 514, imposing a waiting period between the purchase and delivery of a firearm! They want to make women LESS SAFE by forcing a 7 (really up to 11) day waiting period between the time of purchase of a firearm and the time of pickup of said firearm! NOTE: An amendment was added to change the 7 days to 3 days, which could really be up to 6 days. Law Enforcement has no duty to protect us; we must be our own first responders.

Women have died waiting for permission from the government to protect themselves. WHY would any senator want that to happen in NH?

HB 564, banning law-abiding citizens from carrying concealed firearms in a ‘safe school zone.’ Currently, those who have pistol/revolver licenses are allowed, per federal law, to carry concealed on school grounds. CRIMINALS have never obeyed ‘gun free zone’ laws, which is why schools are often targets. This law will further enable criminals to more easily prey on our children.

This legislation also VICTIMIZES those who are victims and MUST protect themselves in their daily lives, especially women.

New Hampshire children and citizens deserve better than to be criminalized or turned into easy targets by criminals.

It is a fact that 98% of mass public shootings occur in gun free zones, why would anyone want to increase those odds in New Hampshire?

HB 696, “VULNERABLE ADULT PROTECTIVE ORDERS”

With the singular exceptions of a specific reference to obtaining a protective order against someone charged with abuse of any type of a vulnerable person and forcibly disarming them, existing law provides the means of identifying and working to prevent such abuse.

Bottom line, all you really need to know is that the word firearm is used in HB 696 26 times; the word vulnerable 21 times.  HB 696 provides no aid or comfort to vulnerable adults. HB 696 leaves alleged abusers with baseball bats, brass knuckles, chain saws, explosive air-nailers, bear spray, kitchen knives, assorted household corrosives and their bare hands.

The only “relief” HB 696 offers is just another piece of paper.

CONTACT Your Senators NOW

Below is the complete list of NH Senators. If you don’t know who your senator is, you can find out here.

Senator David Watters
603.271.3042
David.Watters@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Martha Hennessey
603.271.3042
Martha.Hennessey@leg.state.nh.us
Senator James Gray
603.271.3092
James.Gray@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Harold French
603.271.4063
Harold.French@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Ruth Ward
603.271.3092
Ruth.Ward@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Jeanne Dietsch
603.271.4151
Jeanne.Dietsch@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Jay Kahn
603.271.3077
Jay.Kahn@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Shannon Chandley
603.271.4151
Shannon.Chandley@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Melanie Levesque
603.271.4151
Melanie.Levesque@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Cindy Rosenwald
603.271.4980
Cindy.Rosenwald@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Sharon Carson
603.271.3091
Sharon.Carson@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Dan Feltes
603.271.3042
Dan.Feltes@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Kevin Cavanaugh
603.271.1403
Kevin.Cavanaugh@leg.state.nh.us
Senator John Reagan
603.271.4063
John.Reagan111@gmail.com
Senator Donna Soucy
603.271.3040
Donna.Soucy@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Regina Birdsell
603.271.3092
Regina.Birdsell@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Lou D’Allesandro
603.271.2117
Lou.Dallesandro@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Martha Fuller Clark
603.271.2609
Martha.FullerClark@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Chuck Morse
603.271.3207
Chuck.Morse@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Jon Morgan
603.271.8631
Jon.Morgan@leg.state.nh.us
Senator Tom Sherman
603.271.8631
Tom.Sherman@leg.state.nh.us

You can also copy and paste the below emails and send them ALL an email at the same time:

David.Starr@leg.state.nh.us
Bob.Giuda@leg.state.nh.us
Jeb.Bradley@leg.state.nh.us
David.Watters@leg.state.nh.us
Martha.Hennessey@leg.state.nh.us
James.Gray@leg.state.nh.us
Harold.French@leg.state.nh.us
Ruth.Ward@leg.state.nh.us
Jeanne.Dietsch@leg.state.nh.us
Jay.Kahn@leg.state.nh.us
Shannon.Chandley@leg.state.nh.us
Melanie.Levesque@leg.state.nh.us
Cindy.Rosenwald@leg.state.nh.us
Sharon.Carson@leg.state.nh.us
Dan.Feltes@leg.state.nh.us
Kevin.Cavanaugh@leg.state.nh.us
John.Reagan111@gmail.com
Donna.Soucy@leg.state.nh.us
Regina.Birdsell@leg.state.nh.us
Lou.Dallesandro@leg.state.nh.us
Martha.FullerClark@leg.state.nh.us
Chuck.Morse@leg.state.nh.us
Jon.Morgan@leg.state.nh.us
Tom.Sherman@leg.state.nh.us

It’s time to HOLD THE LINE!

Sign our petition that sends an email you can customize to the entire NH Senate https://wdlnh.org/senate-hold-the-line/

Sign our petition to Governor Sununu that asks him to HOLD THE LINE on the destructive gun control bills being pushed https://wdlnh.org/hold-the-line-defend-nhs-article-2a/


4 thoughts on “RED ALERT: Gun Control bills in the Senate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.